Skip to content

Explaining My Recent Absence

May 7, 2010

Dear Friends and Fellow Adventurers,

In the past week I have been silent on my social networks and on this blog.  I have been dealing with a fairly serious family medical emergency with my wife that has kept me awake at all hours and worried throughout.

It has caused me to think closely about my priorities and how best to honor my commitments while remembering what really matters in life.  I can firmly say that family is the most important detail.  There is nothing more threatening to me than the imminent health problems of a member of my family.

I am fortunate to have a very close family AS WELL as fulfilling pursuits such as this blog.  I have made many new friends and learned interesting recipes and facts along the way.  I have come to realize that a pursuit such as our journey is more than just fun.  It is hard work that requires dedication and focused attention.  It can even take priority over other things if you let it.

So how does one balance the pursuit of interests versus the interests of life?  The answer is of course, balance.

I will be taking a break from MyHungryTum in order to nurse my wife back to health.  She is more important than a blog and is a key part of the drive that makes this journey possible.  If you know her, you know what I mean.  She is a rock and now she needs my love and help.  Also our daughters need a dedicated parent here to assure them that all will be well with their world.

So,  I will see everyone in a couple of weeks.  Please keep us in your thoughts and prayers (if you pray).  The good news is that with rest, she will to make a full recovery.  I can hardly wait.

Happy adventures,
Eric

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Ruby permalink
    May 7, 2010 9:20 pm

    I have faith that things will get better for you and your family. Blessings always. ❤

  2. May 7, 2010 10:04 pm

    Dear Eric – Your family is in our thoughts and prayers. I am sorry that your wife is seriously ill!

    Nothing is more important than your wife & kids right now…

    Sincerely, Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  3. May 8, 2010 6:35 am

    I hope she gets better very soon and I wish you all the very best 🙂

  4. May 8, 2010 8:34 am

    Eric… Do what you must … take good care or your family and yourself. We will be here when you can return… happy and hopeful that things are good for you, your wife and girls! Best…

  5. May 8, 2010 9:01 am

    Sorry to hear this news, although I am glad she is expected to have a full recovery! You sound like a great husband and father. Best, Sasha

  6. May 8, 2010 4:47 pm

    You are all helping to keep me smiling. Thank you for your concern.

    🙂

  7. May 8, 2010 9:36 pm

    Nothing is more important than your family, and nurturing their health and love. I will be keeping your wife and your family in my prayers as you deal with this tough time! I hope she is able to recover swiftly, and that you have the strength to carry your family through this! I can only imagine the stress that is on your shoulders at this time! My sincerest wishes for a Happy Mother’s Day for her tomorrow. We’ll see you when you get back 🙂

    Liren

  8. May 9, 2010 3:03 pm

    Best wishes for a speedy recovery for your wife from the West Coast
    -Laura

Leave a Reply

